Tips On How to Shop Green

Wanna know how you can help save the environment in your own small ways? Here are simple and easy steps that can make a BIG difference. Remember, a little goes a long way. Let’s all do our share and work hand-in-hand in taking care of our precious planet Earth.

Go Big. One big package or container is better than purchasing several smaller ones. Buying in large units save you money and the environment by reducing half or even a third of your trash.

Carry your own shopping bag. Today, groceries provide re-usable Green Bags that can be used instead of plastic bags. Don’t forget to take your green bag with you each time you take a trip to the supermarket. When shopping at the mall or at thrift shops, it’s also a good idea to bring your own recycled bag with you.

Recycle. Buy drinks or food items in re-usable containers. Be creative in recycling wastes. For instance, ice cream containers can be used for planting flowers or veggies, egg shells and potato peels can be used as fertilizers, empty wine bottles can be used as vases or ornaments, and more.

Segregate recyclable wastes. Segregate dry, recyclable wastes from the wet and unrecyclable ones. Separate biodegradable wastes from the non-biodegradable wastes.

Bring your own refillable mug. You can save hundreds of coffee cups or Styrofoam containers in a month by bringing your own mug to your favorite coffee shop and have it refilled instead.

Go easy on the disposables:

  • Go for a re-usable razor instead of disposable ones.
  • Go for rechargeable batteries instead of disposable ones.
  • When hosting parties, use real plates and glasses instead of paper plates and cups.
  • As much as possible, use cloth diapers instead of disposable ones.
2 comments

  1. >You are tagged. Please go to my blog- Random Thoughts, and read my latest post “10 Reasons Why I Blog.” After reading it, please make your on post on “10 Reasons Why I Blog,” then copy the tagboard after the meme and add your name next to mine. Then tag as many persons as you could, giving them these same instructions. Please copy and include the tagboard after your meme and instruct those you will tag to do the same. This will ensure a tremendous surge in the number of traffic and viewers in our respective blogs. Do this and see how traffic and viewership figures in your blog increase exponentially. Thank you very much and God bless.

  2. >Hi Friend,May I request, if it is not too much of a burden to you, to please subscribe to my Feedburner Feeds either through email or to my RSS Feed Reader. You can find them at the upper portion of my sidebars at all my blogs. This will save you the time of going over to my blogs to find out if I have made a new posting. The FeedBurner will automatically transmit, either through email or Feed Reader (whichever you choose), any new post that I make. This will facilitate linkages between us. I will do the same for you if you have your own feeds, but if you still don’t have I will still visit your blog as often as I could. Just inform me via email or through your comment in any of my blogs that you have already enrolled in any of my feeds so that I can reciprocate your gesture. I will appreciate it very much if you could do this as it will definitely boost ranking for my blogs. Thank you very much for your usual kind cooperation and patronage of my blogs. God bless you and your loved ones always.

Leave a Reply

