2008 Great American Sea Food Cook Off People’s Choice Contest

Since I moved away from home, I discovered a new love for cooking. My mom is an excellent cook and I’d prefer homecooked meals than fastfood any time. What’s great about home cooked dishes is that you can be sure that the ingredients are fresh, healthy and clean.

I checked out http://www.GreatAmericanSeafoodCookOff.com and this year they’re once again holding a contest for the people’s choice, 2008 Great American Sea Food cook off. What does it take to be a winner? First they need to use either one of the 2 mystery ingredients – Southwest Airline Peanuts or select brews from Michelob Brewing Co. The dishes must also be healthy and easy to prepare.

This year, the final 5 participants are Colorado Striped Bass Panzanella, Pan Roasted Glazed Rockfish with Peas and Carrots, Mississippi Redfish Courtboullion with Seafood Dirty Rice, Texas Gulf Shrimp and Louisiana Shrimp and Andouille Cassoulet. These dishes are represented by Chef Paul Anders, Chef Tatari Campbell from Maryland, Chef John Currence, Chef Mark Holley and Chef Brian Landry.

Everyone who is legal resident of the US are invited to join and cast their votes for a chance to win a free trip to New Orleans. The deadline for casting the votes is until October 31,2008 and the grand winner would be announced on sometime mid November of this year.

Personally, I would vote for the Mississippi Redfish Courtboullion with Seafood Dirty Rice from Chef John Currence which also happens to be the judge’s winner of the contest.

As a Filipino foodie, I love rice dishes. This particular dish resembles a lot like traditional Filipino meals. It makes use of shrimp, redfish, crabmeat and vegetables, sauteed and simmered in tomato soup. I love shrimp, fish, crabmeat and okra!

Why dirty rice? Rice is sauteed in bacon, garlic, fish, shrimp, chicken liver and butter. Then simmered in fish stock and beer. I haven’t tried using beer in cooking. I’m also not a big fan of liver, so I think I’m gonna skip on that one. This dish really seems easy to cook and I wouldn’t mind trying it myself. Hmmm… maybe one of these days.

*Who would You Vote?

Post?slot_id=20613&url=http%3a%2f%2fsocialspark

Leave a Reply

