On Buying Video Games

The last time I got addicted playing video games was way back with the Nintendo Family Computer. The video games that I remember playing was Super Mario Brothers, Mountain Climber, Donkey Kong, Pac Man, Popeye, Bomber Man, i’m having trouble remembering the others. We were using Joystick game controllers then. Can you imagine how long ago that was?
Then there came Playstation, PSP, Xbox, Wii and other gaming consoles that I never got my hands on. Not that they were out of my reach cause my nephews and nieces played them, but I guess my heart is not really into gaming. So when I was asked to come up with some tips on how to buy video games, I did research and here’s what I came up with:

Check the rating. Parents, especially must pay attention to what their kids are playing. Personally, I think that some of games are too bloody (literally) violent for kids or even teenagers to play.

Below are the ESRB ratings you’ll find printed on the package.

* AO – adults only
* M – for those who are 17 or older and considered as mature audiences
* T – Teens in the age-group 13 years or older
* E10+ – for children or others who are older than 10 years
* E – Everyone
* EC – Early childhood

Try the game.Don’t buy a game just because it’s what your kids want. The best way to decide whether a game’s content is suitable for your child is to try it yourself. What kind of characters will they meet? Do you think it would be worth your kids’ time to play the game? Will the game affect their good values? Parents must be very careful about making a choice.

Check for compatibility. Take note that a gaming console designed by Nintendo may not be compatible with Sony or Microsoft game consoles. You want to make sure that you can play the game with the platform you have before purchasing.

For more technical tips, you can check this guide on buying game consoles and handheld gaming devices

Leave a Reply

