Shop of the Week: Leoravon

Our Shop of the Week offers fashion accessories that are made out of reclaimed or recycled things. Her shop was recently featured at Etsy’s top picks for the Fall. Leora is offering 10% discount for everyone. Just enter “shopbug” on your checkout. (thanks, Leora!) Read on below to find out more about Leoravon.

What’s the inspiration behind your shop’s name?

It’s a combination of my first name, and the last name of my German ancestors, VonBublitz. I always thought VonBublitz was a funny name and it kind of stuck. But now I can’t stand my shop name and it’s too late to change it!
I think I was being lazy when I came up with it, and now I really wish that I would have gone with something different. Oh well, live and learn. I learned a lesson in thinking things through.
How old is your shop?
I opened it in March, so I suppose that makes it just about 6 months old.
What inspired you to start your own home business?
My dissatisfaction for having to working for The Man!

What was the toughest challenge you faced so far?
Self-doubt. Wondering if I’m doing it all right.
How did you get over it?
I think that I will forever be working on that one. However, it helps when i reach out to other sellers and business-owners for advice and reassurance.

Please Name:

the things you do when you’re not busy in your shop. . .
roam around thrift stores, put on ridiculous outfits, learn about food as medicine, yoga, try to figure out what I want to be when i grow up
Leora and a friend, dressed up in silly outfits

stuff inside your bag you can’t leave home without. . .

at least 10 bobby-pins, my Sigg bottle, vitamins & chocolate
your favorite shops. . .
urban revisions, violet folklore, big brother vintage, snoozer loser
your top 3 favorite picks from your shop. . .

coral bullet necklace
two- tiered gypsy feather earrings
raven claw necklace

What tips would you want to share for aspiring home based entrepreneurs like you?
I still feel like i’m clumsily stumbling my way through all of this. the thing that has helped me the most, is often being reminded that not everything has to be perfect. there is no right or wrong way to start and maintain a shop. certainly don’t blindly jump into it, but don’t over think and over-plan. there are all kinds of great surprises and unpredictable insights along the way, so it’s important to stay open and flexible.
also, utilize all of the amazing free resources that etsy has to offer sellers! I have learned sooo much from their articles and videos.
Any message to your customers and the people who support you?
I never cease to be absolutely amazed by my customers’ and fellow shop-owners’ genuine kindness. there is such a warm and supportive sense of community on etsy. i owe a huge, heartfelt “thank you” to all of the amazing people that i’ve encountered since i’ve opened my shop.
Leora Holbann, shop owner
~*~*~*~

Now, here are my personal faves from theshop.

Natural Long Feather Earrings ; Feather Bullet Necklace
Feather Hair Barette (vintage) ; Vintage Flaming Orange Feather Earrings with Floral Beads
Luxurious Fur Tailspin Necklace (Vintage); Old Fashioned Bicycle Necklace (extra long patina chain)
Thank You Leora for a great interview and thank you for offering a discount. I’m inviting everyone to check out the Fall Sale at Leoravon, and don’t forget to use your 10% off. Tell her you found her through theshopbug 🙂
2 comments

Leave a Reply

