Shop of the Week: Made By Girl

This is not the first time that we’re featuring Made By Girl. A lot of posts on this blog included items from the shop. Yes, she is a fave. Earlier this year, she was our Shop of the Month. This week is different because Jennifer herself answered the questions for our readers.

And I thought it fitting because there have been changes happening in the shop lately. Works from other talented artists are now available at the shop. Jen is also selling selected items from her home and wardrobe. Check out Jennifer’s Closet and get some quality second-hand items at a good price.

Made By Girl online store

Here’s the interview:

 

What’s the inspiration behind your shop’s name?

I decided on MadeByGirl because it was catchy and I wanted to make it obvious that the products were madeby a girl…. (me).

How old is your shop?

A little over 2 years old.

greeting cards that Jennifer designed herself

What inspired you to start your own home business?

The ability to work from home seemed like an attractive idea to me, so i pursued it. I had a friend who was in the same industry & her success inspired me to really go ahead and take the leap of faith into starting my own. I’ve always loved Graphic Design, drawing and being creative…..designing my products keeps me doing all that and more.

her work station

What was the toughest challenge you faced so far?

Marketing. It is very time consuming and can be very draining at times. You feel like your never quite done.

How did you get over it?

I just take breaks & then give myself time to reflect on what I’ve done and what I have to tackle next.

Please Name: the things you do when you’re not busy in your shop:

Travel, reading and spending time with my dogs at the dog park.

stuff inside your bag you can’t leave home without:

My iPhone & my Lancome juicy tube lipgloss.

your favorite shops:

I have so many….Forever 21, Zara, West Elm, The Mac Store & many more….

your top 3 favorite picks from your shop:

ABC Love print

I love you, blogs & tea
and any one of the Customized Kids posters

What tips would you want to share for aspiring home based entrepreneurs like you?

Make sure you research the market for the item you want to sell. Get a decent website with some great photos of your products to start off with. Spend time building a blog which you can use to promote the items in your shop….I’ve learned that blogging is a terrific marketing tool!

Any message to your customers and the people who support you?

Thank you for the kind words &; the ongoing support of my blog & business!

~*~*~*~

 

And now for my picks:

I’m sure that many of you have visited Made By Girl but if you haven’t yet, I recommend for you to drop by. It’s filled with lots of loveable things. She also has one of the coolest blogs in the blogosphere. Check it out here.

Thank you so much Jennifer for taking part. Continue to inspire other budding artists/entrepreneurs!

Leave a Reply

