Shop of the Week: Tempting Tart Plus a Giveaway

One of my favorite home decor pieces are scented candles because not only do they look beautiful in a room, they smell wonderful too.  Our featured shop this week is all about scented melts, no, not candles, but they look deliciously tempting and smells mouth-watering too!  Oh, although they look good enough to eat, these are actually scented, melted wax in different food flavours.  I’m sure your oil burners and your noses will loooove these tarts!  

Before we get on to the Q and A, let me first say thank you so much Tempting Tart for offering another exciting giveaway for the Shopbug readers.  Yes, one of you can win a 6-pack tart of your choice!  The rules on how to join can be found at the bottom of the page but right now, let’s get to know a little bit about Di, the shop owner.

* Raspberry Truffle Grubby Love Muffins *
What’s the inspiration behind your shop’s name?
My shop name is sort of a play on words.  I wanted it to be fun, yet still tell what I do.  The wax melts I make are also known as ‘tarts’, and we all know what kind of woman a tart is.  Not that I am one or anything…LOL

How old is your shop?
I opened The Tempting Tart in August of 2009.  After a slow start, I recently decided to totally revamp my whole shop, and I’m in the process of making tons of new and delicious tarts that fit with this theme and look.

  * cupcake *
What inspired you to start your own home business?
I’ve been selling my wares since 2000 in some capacity or another.  At first it was just a bit of spending money on the side and for the products to use myself.  Now I’m a SAHM, and it’s my full time gig.  Quite honestly, I’m not meant to work for someone else, as I have a hard time playing well with others. ;P

Can you give us a peek on the creative process involved in making tarts?
A lot of my most favorite tarts are inspired by recipes.  I first come up with the idea, then decide how I want it to look and go from there.  The hardest part is getting the scent to be exactly how I want it to be.  A lot of my scents are my own custom blends.

 
 * deliciously scented soy wax tarts *

What was the toughest challenge you’ve faced so far?
One of the toughest challenges I face on a day to day basis is balancing my family and my ‘full time hobby’.  Family, of course, comes first!

How did you get over it?

Lots of late nights!

lease Name:

the things you do when you’re not busy in your shop
When I’m not busy in my tart shop, you can find me in one of my other shops! http://auntiedis.etsy.com or http://auntiescardshop.etsy.com  I also enjoy reading when I have a free minute, hiking, going to the beach, making cupcakes, surfing the net, and every once in a while, I watch some TV.

stuff inside your bag you can’t leave home without
My blackberry.  Seriously, how did I ever live without one of these things???  Lip gloss, a book in case I get stuck somewhere waiting.

your favorite shops
Gosh there are so many to choose from!  I’m a self proclaimed soap ho, so most of my favorite shops are bath and body related.  I love

your top 3 favorite picks from your shop
I would have to say my 3 favorite items in my shop are the chocolate turtle brownie tarts,
the birthday cupcake tarts, 
and the lemon poppy seed muffin tarts.  I like food scents, can you tell?

What tips would you want to share for aspiring home based entrepreneurs like you?
Keep plugging away and don’t give up! Read everything you can get your hands on, and then search for more. Don’t be afraid to experiment, see what works for you!  Whether that means adding a new product, or taking new photos!  Do some craft shows.  How bad do you want it? Well, go get it! And never let them see you sweat!

Any message to your customers and the people who support you?

I love all my past and future customers dearly.  Without them I couldn’t do what I do!

~*~*~*~

And now for the part you’ve all been waiting for.  First, you need to be a follower of the Shopbug to join.  If you’re not yet following this blog, just click on the FOLLOW button found at the sidebar.  Then you can choose to do any (1 entry) or all of the steps below to get four entries:)  The winner will be picked through Random.org and will be announced next  Sunday, March 28.
1. Hop over Tempting Tart and come back here to share with us your favorite tart.  If you win, which one would you like to have?
2. Blog about this giveaway.
3.  Link to this giveaway from your Facebook or Twitter account.

Please don’t forget to include in your comments all the steps you’ve done to make sure that you get all the entries you deserve.  And please make sure that I can get in touch with you either through your blog or email.  Thanks =)
8 comments

Leave a Reply

