Shop of the Week: Dot & Jim

Our Shop of the Week is a cute little shop called Dot + Jim.  I looove the history behind this shop’s name and I’m happy to introduce you all to Claire Teschel, the dear grand daughter and proud owner of the Dot + Jim.

What’s the inspiration behind your shop’s name? 

Dot and Jim were my charming, lovable, cajun born and bred grandparents. They truly were two of a kind and I miss them dearly.

How old is your shop? 

Turned 2 this month. Break out the bubbly!

what a lovely website!

What inspired you to start your own home business?

Well, it began in Spring of 2008 when I was enrolled in my final Master’s Portfolio class at SCAD. As an Advertising Design major, we were encouraged to revamp our existing advertising portfolios. But I decided to go a different route.

Since my ultimate goal was (and still is) to be a stationery designer, I went ahead and launched my own line of cards and prints (dot+jim was born!). I then moved to Cleveland and began designing cards for American Greetings, while at the same time developing dot+jim more and more each day. Now I’m back in Savannah living amongst the moss and magnolias and loving every minute of it.

Dot and Jim’s Beautiful Love Story

Can you give us a peek on the creative process involved in creating your designs/collages?

I’d be happy to! Most of the time I start out with a large sheet of paper. Then I dig into my shoebox of paper scraps (literally, a shoebox) and piece bits together. Within the large scale collage, I zone in on small areas and try to create a new composition within the existing composition.

Claire’s work space

I either scan those sections in or cut them out. I take them into the computer and either add graphic elements, maybe some handwritten type, or leave as is. Some pieces actually start out as large scale collages but I end up making them into greeting cards. It just depends on what I feel fits best and where.

What was the toughest challenge you faced so far? How did you get over it?
I suppose my toughest challenge is always that dreaded creative block. All artists get it and must overcome it. When it happens, I usually like to clear my mind, maybe jump in my car and go somewhere scenic. Finding new inspiration and seeing new land (plus some sweet tunes) always help me move past the block.

the things you do when you’re not busy in your shop: 

spending time in the parks and galleries is one of my favorite things to do around savannah. i also love the beach (who doesn’t?) and taking evening walks with my goofy pup, nattie gann.

Claire Teschelowner of Dot + Jim

 

stuff inside your bag you can’t leave home without: 
My Canon Elph, my moleskine, and a micron pen. Also one of my favorite tools: my trusty corner rounder. 🙂
your favorite shops: 
I love Nan Lawson and Michelle Maule on Etsy. They both have fabulous work and their style is quite unique. I am also a big fan of Rifle Paper Company, who I’ve most recently discovered.

 

your top 3 favorite picks from your shop: 
Heart of Palm is one of my favorite paint chip designs- it encompasses all that Savannah is to me.
I also fancy my Tear Drop Blue paint chip

 

and my Sleepytime Tea card. The last two were inspired by very special people.

 

 

~*~*~*~

 

My personal picks from Dot + Jim :
everlasting love ; memory lane
mellow yellow ; applesauce
southern dawn ; teatime in Savannah
rain drop ; best friend and smile
Thank you so much Claire for this lovely interview:)
Leave a Reply

