Those Three Powerful Words: You’ve Got Mail

You’ve Got Mail was playing on cable today. I’ve lost count the number of times I’ve seen the movie but still, it never fails to touch me.  And by touched, I meant- made me laughed and cried.  I think it is one of the best scripts ever.  And the best soundtracks, I love all the songs played.  Not to mention the perfect people to play the roles of Joe and Kathleen.  (Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, just in case you’ve been living under a rock:)
There is something powerful about exchanging letters with a complete stranger from somewhere far away, to open up with someone you don’t know, and to discover that you can talk freely about anything and actually share a real conversation, is comforting.
Today, I’m sharing with you a couple of photos from weheartit along with my favorite dialogs from the film.
Joe Fox: Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address. On the other hand, this not knowing has its charms.
Kathleen Kelly: I love daisies.
Joe Fox: You told me.
Kathleen Kelly: They’re so friendly. Don’t you think daisies are the friendliest flower?
Kathleen Kelly: [in an email to Joe Fox] The odd thing about this form of communication is that you’re more likely to talk about nothing than something. But I just want to say that all this nothing has meant more to me than so many somethings.
Kathleen Kelly: Why did you stop by again? I forget.
Joe Fox: I wanted to be your friend.
Kathleen Kelly: Oh.
Joe Fox: I knew it wasn’t… possible. What can I say, sometimes a guy just wants the impossible.
Joe Fox: You know, sometimes I wonder…
Kathleen Kelly: What?
Joe Fox: Well… if I hadn’t been Fox Books and you hadn’t been The Shop Around the Corner, and you and I had just, well… met…
Kathleen Kelly: I know.
Joe Fox: Yeah. I would have asked for your number, and I wouldn’t have been able to wait twenty-four hours before calling you and saying, “Hey, how about… oh, how about some coffee or, you know, drinks or dinner or a movie… for as long as we both shall live?”
Kathleen Kelly: Joe…
Joe Fox: And you and I would have never been at war. And the only thing we’d fight about would be which video to rent on a Saturday night.
Kathleen Kelly: Well, who fights about that?
Joe Fox: Well, some people. Not us.
Kathleen Kelly: We would never.
Joe Fox: If only.
Joe Fox: Don’t cry, Shopgirl. Don’t cry.
Kathleen Kelly: I wanted it to be you. I wanted it to be you so badly.
The magic of receiving a letter from a far-away friend, delivered via post mail is incomparable.  But then again, words typed on a screen and electronically sent to the other end is powerful just the same.  Ultimately it’s all about the words and the people who wrote them.
Perhaps I can totally relate to the story because I have had the privilege of sharing email conversations with an “unseen friend” some years back.  And though our correspondence has stopped unexpectedly for some unknown reason, I will always be glad to have shared those letters with that friend.   How many of you have seen the movie and love it as much I do?   Have you exchanged letters with someone you’ve never met?
One comment

Leave a Reply

