Shop of the Week: The Joy of Color

I had the pleasure of interviewing Yael Berger, designer and owner of The Joy of Color.  She personally creates colorful decorations out of clay and she is a member of the Etsy Artisans Gallery Team.  Let’s get to know more about her and The Joy of Color.  Thanks so much Yael for being our Shop of the Week!



What’s the inspiration behind your shop’s name?
I love color, as a designer and artist I’m fascinated by how color works.  Few years ago there was a big exhebition of Impressionist in Israel Museum in Jerusalem  Called “The Joy of Color” . I like it so much so i adopted it as my shop name. I think the name represents my works.

How old is your shop?
Almost a year. In Mid July I’ll celebrate my first year at Etsy.



What inspired you to start your own home business?
Friends that saw my works (or got them as presents) told my i should sell. I though about selling to shops or in fair. One of my friend (Lirola , Selling at Etsy) introduced me to Etsy, I liked the idea of working from home and selling directly to international buyers.

Can you give us a peek on the creative process involved in your craft?
Well it all starts with playing with cold clay and colors. My inspiration comes from looking at nature and flowers. you can see here the photos of my studio.

 

Yael Berger, working in her studio


What was the toughest challenge you faced so far?
Marketing, its the most difficult task for me.

How did you get over it?
Well, i didn’t yet, I’m still learning every day. I joined to some Etsy team were we support each others in promotion. I use the social nets (FB, Twitter, ..)though i try not to be a spammer.

Please Name:


the things you do when you’re not busy in your shop
Read, I’m a book junkie, go to the movies . We love Jazz and we go every now and then to Cafe’s in Tel Aviv with that have also jam sessions. During the winter i love knit in front of the TV. And of course are daily walk. ( we, is my husband and me) stuff inside your bag you can’t leave home without

your favorite shops
That is a though question i love so many in so many Categories. Its difficult to choose one. As summer is here I’ll recommend MylolaFashion. I lke her Modern yet Romantic style. Its very fresh and femenine and her colors are beautiful.


your top 3 favorite picks from your shop
I love them all but i think my napkin rings and the decorative flowers are my favorites




 


 What tips would you want to share for aspiring home based entrepreneurs like you?
The best tips i think are:
Be patient, it takes time to be recognized,
Good photos and smart Marketing are the key to success.
Be Creative and optimistic

Any message to your customers and the people who support you?
I just want to thank all of those who support hand made sellers and buyers. It makes our world a better place to live.

***
if you want to be featured as Shop of the Week,
please send me an email at
theshopbug@yahoo.com

4 comments

Leave a Reply

