Shop of the Week: Pretty and Personal Papers

This week’s featured shop is Pretty and Personal Papers, owned by Tricia Rush Richner.  She is also a Work At Home Mom managing her shop in Texas.  In her shop you can find, Mommy Journals, monogrammed letters and note cards, gift tags, and other personalized paper goodies.
What’s the inspiration behind your shop’s name?
Unfortunately, my shop name is not the result of some clever lighting strike of inspiration. tricia16 was my original buyer name on etsy and so I just used that when I became a seller. I didn’t have much of a vision on the future and didn’t realize that I couldn’t change my shop name, so I was stuck with it.

I added the “Pretty and Personal Papers” just recently because it pretty well describes my favorite thing to work with: paper! I love pretty papers and then make it into something personal. Either a Mommy Journal, a wood monogrammed initial or monogrammed note cards (which were my shop staple when I first started)

Monogrammed Letters

How old is your shop?

I will celebrate my 1 year etsy anniversary on July 8 (as a seller).

What inspired you to start your own home business?

I was an etsy buyer way before I became a seller and really loved the idea of a community of hand made artisans all working collectively to promote hand made. At the time, I had been making monogrammed note cards and giving them as gifts for various special occasions.

At one bridal shower, another guest approached me and asked if she could order some note cards similar to what I had made for the bride. She was so excited and really was the one to encourage me to sell my note cards. Since then, I have expanded a little bit, offering Mommy Journals and wooden monogrammed letters.

Personalized Mommy Journals
Can you give us a peek on the creative process involved in your craft? 

It usually starts with some paper I have found. I cover the journal front and back covers and then line the inside with a solid coordinating card stock. Then I choose ribbon, buttons, clips, flowers or other embellishments to add to the front as I like. I have tons of supplies and I can always find a good combination for whatever colors I have to work with.

gift tag
What was the toughest challenge you faced so far? 

Getting featured in the Storque article was the most challenging thing for me so far because all of the sudden I was getting order after order after request, after convo. It was totally overwhelming. Now, I’m ready for it again, but at the time I have to admit I was pretty much caught off guard.

 Tricia’s work station

 

How did you get over it? 

I got up early and worked on orders and stayed up late to work on orders. I focused entirely on filling the orders that I had and nothing else (like email or laundry!) It all worked out in a few weeks, and looking back, it was great.

 

Please Name:

the things you do when you’re not busy in your shop
– boating, being with the kids and dog, exercise

 

Matilda, Madison, Madox

 

stuff inside your bag you can’t leave home without 
– I have just recently started carrying a purse again after 6 years of having to carry a diaper bag so there’s not really much in it. My debit card, maybe 2 or 3 dollars cash and my phone (which I definitely cannot go without!)

 

your favorite shops 

PawshCompanions, theCopperPoppy, TheArtOfJoy, BuckarooBones, theprettypeacock

your top 3 favorite picks from your shop

I just love the colors on this
I love the “mother/friend” theme and the colors on this. I also am so pleased with how the paper 3D flower turned out
These are some of my fave colors and I particularly like the butterfly
 

What tips would you want to share for aspiring home based entrepreneurs like you?

This is one of those questions that I just cringe at. I just don’t really feel qualified to give any advice. I feel like I have been feeling my own way in the dark and really can’t believe it’s been a year that I’ve been selling. So, if I had to give one piece of advice, it’d be to join and participate in the etsy teams.

My greetings team and busymoms team have been very helpful to me in lots of different ways. The greetings team in particular is very supportive and helpful and is just filled with super talented and gifted people. Any problem I had would more than likely get presented to them before making any decision. I really value their support and guidance.

Tricia Rush Richner
designer/owner of Pretty and Personal Papers

Any message to your customers and the people who support you?

Thank you so much. It has been such a pleasure working with each of my customers. I get an enormous amount of gratification when I ship an item as I know it will bring such joy to its recipient. The Mommy Journals are particularly fun because it allows me to connect with other moms who want to write about their just kids as I started doing. It’s kind of a “full circle” moment for me.

~*~*~*~ 
Thank you Tricia for the interview:)
11 comments

  1. >This is a lovely shop. You come off very warm and personable in the interview. You're the kind of person people can relate to. Your products are delightful, tastefully done. All the best to you.www.delincolon.etsy.com

  2. >Tricia is an inspiration to her fellow members on the Etsy Greetings Street Team, so this is a great feature to see about her! –Laura

  3. >Tricia's a great inspiration! I had no idea her store had been open only one year — she's always offering wonderful advice to her Etsy Greetings friends.Great article! Wonderful to get to know her a little more!

Leave a Reply

