Styling a Dream Wedding – An Interview with Samantha of Primary Petals

I came across the work of Samantha Santana – floral designer and event stylist,while browsing the pages of Utterly Engaged and I instantly fell in love with her beautiful creations.  Samantha’s floral designs are breathtakingly beautiful!

I sent her an e-mail, asking if she would care to do an interview for my blog.  It is so nice of her to say yes and it has been a pleasure corresponding with her for this article.

What I love about interviewing people is that I learn a lot from what they share! Samantha talks about how she got into this career, and shares her personal thoughts and experiences on being a florist and event stylist.  She also gives tips on how to style a dream wedding on a limited budget.  If you are planning your wedding, I am sure that you will find this interview an inspiration.

How long have you been in the business?

I have been practicing floral design and event styling with my husband, James, as my business partner for almost 3 years now.

Did you really choose to be a florist and event stylist?

No, it is quite a surprise! I fell into this career after a friend asked me to provide florals for her wedding. I am her “artsy” friend, so she thought I’d be able to pull it off. Apparently I did, because soon after her wedding a flow of request for seasonal wedding flowers came my way!

However, it wasn’t until I lost my job in entertainment, due to an injury, that I really was forced to move into event styling and floral design full time. It was a blessing in disguise because I suddenly was getting tons of work without trying due to a few blog features I had on some prominent wedding blogs. The work has not slowed down ever since!

Read the rest of the interview.

Leave a Reply

